Political Instability Task Force

Up to 2012, Professor Goldstone and MOVE at Mason were home to the data and analysis of the Political Instability Task Force.The results of the Political Instability Task Force’s latest global forecasting model were presented in the January 2010 issue of the American Journal of Political Science. To obtain the article and supporting data, follow the links below:

(AJPS, 2010)

A Global Model for Forecasting Political Instability

Jack A. Goldstone, Robert H. Bates, David L. Epstein, Ted Robert Gurr, Michael B. Lustik, Monty G. Marshall, Jay Ulfelder, and Mark Woodward  Black and white, 19 pages, 3 figures, 3 tables, 2 appendices
Publisher: American Journal of Political Science, January 2010
Click the Title on the left to access the article; Click HERE for supporting documentation


Professor Goldstone left the Task Force in 2012.  For subsequent data and analysis linked to PITF, please contact the Center for Systemic Peace, led by Dr. Monty Marshall.